Qt 5 Base for OS/2

(DE) Neuigkeiten zu den Themen OS/2, eCS, und dem OS/2-Forum
(EN) News about OS/2, eCS and the OS/2 Forum
_diver
Beiträge: 170
Registriert: Fr 27. Jun 2014, 10:57

Qt 5 Base for OS/2

Beitrag von _diver » Mi 14. Aug 2019, 17:01

Qt 5 Base for OS/2
This is a port of the QtBase module of the Qt software development framework version 5 to the OS/2 operating system (and its derivants). This port is carefully crafted and maintained by bww bitwise works GmbH (also referred as bitwiseworks).

The current version of the port implements all major parts of the QtBase module and is suitable to compile and run a large amount of Qt 5 applications on OS/2. It, however, carries a beta status and has the following limitations compared to versions of Qt 5 for officially supported platforms (Linux, macOS and Windows):
  • OpenGL and IPv6 support is absent.
  • Drag and drop support is not implemented.
  • Application-defined mouse pointer shapes are not supported.
  • Some aspects of the desktop integration are missing.
  • Some bugs are still there.
These limitations will be addressed in future versions of the OS/2 port (except OpenGL and IPv6 which are unlikely to be supported in the near future due to limitations of OS/2 itself).

Please refer to CHANGELOD.md for a list of changes from release to release.

Installation
The easiest and the only officially supported way to install Qt 5 is to use binary builds provided by bitwiseworks. This requires the RPM/YUM environment for OS/2 to be installed. Note that all recent distributions of ArcaOS already have it, so nothing needs to be done if you have one of these. In the RPM/YUM environment, there is no need to install Qt 5 libraries explicitly - it will be done automatically as long as an application that needs them is about to be installed. However, if you want to play around with Qt 5 without installing any real Qt application, the best way to do so is to install official Qt 5 example and demo applications. This can be done by issuing the following command from the command line prompt:
yum install qt5-qtbase-examples
If you have ArcaOS and prefer a GUI installer, then you should launch Arca Noae Package Manager located in the Computer > Install/Remove folder on your desktop, select YUM > Quick install.. from the main menu, type qt5-qtbase-examples in the entry field and press Enter.

Once successfully installed, all Qt 5 example applications may be found in the Programs > bitwiseworks Apps and Ports > Qt5 Base Examples folder on your desktop.

Help and Support
You will find a lot of useful information about Qt 5 for OS/2 on the Wiki pages of the project's main github repository. There you may also watch the progress of our work on this port. Please read these pages carefully if you need any help or want to report a problem.

Sponsoring
To be able to finish our goals we need your support. Please sponsor as much as possible via our webshop or via our Patreon page.

Benutzeravatar
ThomasOF
Beiträge: 141
Registriert: Mo 20. Jan 2014, 19:26
Wohnort: Offenbach

Beitrag von ThomasOF » Mi 14. Aug 2019, 19:31

Congratulations for this great step!

Benutzeravatar
mseidel
Beiträge: 27
Registriert: Di 14. Mär 2017, 10:45
Wohnort: Hamburg

Beitrag von mseidel » Do 15. Aug 2019, 13:08

Moin,

Ich bekomme folgende Meldung beim Versuch die Demos zu installieren:

Fehler: Paket: 1:libc-0.1.2-1.oc00.i686 (netlabs-rel)
Benötigt: klusrmgr >= 1.2.2
Installiert: klusrmgr-1.2.1-1.oc00.i686 (installed)
klusrmgr = 1.2.1-1.oc00
Verfügbar: klusrmgr-1.1.0-2.oc00.i686 (netlabs-rel)
klusrmgr = 1.1.0-2.oc00
Verfügbar: klusrmgr-1.1.0-3.oc00.i686 (netlabs-rel)
klusrmgr = 1.1.0-3.oc00
Verfügbar: klusrmgr-1.1.2-1.oc00.i686 (netlabs-rel)
klusrmgr = 1.1.2-1.oc00
Verfügbar: klusrmgr-1.1.4-1.oc00.i686 (netlabs-rel)
klusrmgr = 1.1.4-1.oc00
Verfügbar: klusrmgr-1.1.5-1.oc00.i686 (netlabs-rel)
klusrmgr = 1.1.5-1.oc00
Sie können versuchen mit --skip-broken das Problem zu umgehen.
You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest

Gruß,
Matthias

aschn
Beiträge: 805
Registriert: Mi 25. Dez 2013, 22:47

Beitrag von aschn » Do 15. Aug 2019, 19:43

klusrmgr 1.2.2-1 findest Du noch in netlabs-exp.
Andreas Schnellbacher

aschn
Beiträge: 805
Registriert: Mi 25. Dez 2013, 22:47

Beitrag von aschn » Do 15. Aug 2019, 21:21

Vgl. http://trac.netlabs.org/rpm/ticket/338

Derzeit (2019-08-15 21:20) ist die .rpm-Datei für mich aber noch nicht in netlabs-rel sichtbar.
Andreas Schnellbacher

Benutzeravatar
mseidel
Beiträge: 27
Registriert: Di 14. Mär 2017, 10:45
Wohnort: Hamburg

Beitrag von mseidel » Fr 16. Aug 2019, 00:43

aschn hat geschrieben:
Do 15. Aug 2019, 21:21
Vgl. http://trac.netlabs.org/rpm/ticket/338

Derzeit (2019-08-15 21:20) ist die .rpm-Datei für mich aber noch nicht in netlabs-rel sichtbar.
Danke, gerade eben hat es geklappt.

morcvomorc
Beiträge: 59
Registriert: Fr 3. Jan 2014, 09:42

Beitrag von morcvomorc » Fr 16. Aug 2019, 15:47

Congratulation. Good to see progress!